Paychex, Inc. (PAYX) FY2026: Payouts Use 95% of Free Cash
Paychex’s dividends and buybacks consumed a calculated 94.8% of its $2.32 billion free cash flow in the year ended May 31, 2026, leaving $121.2 million before debt repayments and other investments. Free cash flow is defined here as operating cash less property and equipment purchases; it does not deduct customer-list purchases or receivables financing. Favorable tax-payment timing and customer refunds still owed also helped cash generation, so the improvement may not fully repeat. 10-K, pp. 30–31, 44
1. Cash Fell Despite Higher Earnings
Cash declined as shareholder distributions, debt repayments, and investment absorbed operating inflows.
1-1. Receivables Expanded While Cash Contracted
Read the cash decline alongside receivables: money tied up in customer financing cannot simultaneously fund distributions.
| Item ($ millions, May 31) | 2025 | 2026 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash and cash equivalents | 1,628.6 | 1,088.2 | −33.2% |
| Accounts receivable, net | 1,330.5 | 1,507.6 | +13.3% |
| Inventory | Not separately disclosed | Not separately disclosed | — |
| Property and equipment, net | 511.5 | 588.9 | +15.1% |
| Intangible assets, net | 1,947.3 | 1,684.0 | −13.5% |
| Total assets | 16,564.1 | 16,174.5 | −2.4% |
| Total liabilities | 12,436.1 | 12,439.4 | +0.0% |
| Stockholders’ equity | 4,128.0 | 3,735.1 | −9.5% |
Source: 10-K, p. 42. Changes are calculated from the filing amounts; +0.0% reflects a small increase after rounding.
Purchased receivables—customer invoices Paychex finances—rose from $1,151.1 million to $1,309.5 million, explaining most receivables growth. Software investment supported property and equipment growth; amortization, the gradual expensing of acquired intangible assets, reduced their remaining value. Cash includes $217.7 million collected for customer payrolls and taxes, versus $179.8 million previously, so it is not entirely available for corporate spending. Notes A, J–K, pp. 45, 69–70
1-2. Debt Fell, but Customer Obligations Remained Large
Total borrowings recorded on the balance sheet, calculated by adding short-term debt and the current and long-term portions of long-term debt, fell from $4,966.8 million to $4,556.1 million. Operating obligations included $154.8 million of trade payables, up from $129.8 million, and $69.4 million of current deferred revenue—payments received before the related services are recognized as revenue—unchanged. Separately, $4,884.6 million in client fund obligations stood against $4,832.2 million of funds held for clients; those assets are not spare corporate liquidity. 10-K, p. 42
Of $4,600.0 million debt principal, $400.0 million, or a calculated 8.7%, matures within three years of the balance-sheet date. Principal is the amount owed to lenders; the balance-sheet amount is lower because it deducts unamortized debt issuance costs. The average stated annual interest rate, weighted by each borrowing’s principal, is a calculated 5.24%. Fixed rates protect existing interest payments from rate changes until refinancing is needed. Assets representing the right to use leased property were $63.9 million, and lease liabilities were $74.2 million, versus $63.8 million and $78.0 million previously. Notes I and N, pp. 68–69, 75
1-3. Retired Shares Reduced Accumulated Profits
Retained earnings, accumulated profits after dividends and other equity adjustments, fell from $2,277.0 million to $1,805.8 million despite positive profits. This accounting balance is not a cash reserve. The bridge is $1,760.1 million earned, less $1,589.9 million in declared dividends, $584.0 million charged to retained earnings for retired shares, and $57.4 million of equity-plan activity. Declared dividends can differ from cash dividends paid because declaration and payment occur at different times; the retained-earnings charge for retired shares is only part of their total repurchase cost. Additional paid-in capital, which records capital from share issuance and compensation above shares’ nominal value, rose from $1,901.1 million to $1,975.6 million, while accumulated losses outside net income narrowed by a calculated $3.8 million. Equity contraction principally reflects distributions, not an operating loss. 10-K, pp. 42–43
2. Acquisition Growth Outran Profit Growth
Paycor enlarged revenue, but acquisition expenses and financing costs limited the benefit to shareholders.
2-1. Interest Absorbed Over Half the Operating-Profit Increase
Focus on margins: a larger business retained less reported profit from each dollar of revenue.
| Item ($ millions except margins) | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 | Annualized growth, FY2023–26 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 5,278.3 | 5,571.7 | 6,512.0 | 9.2% |
| Operating income | 2,174.1 | 2,207.7 | 2,510.5 | 7.3% |
| Operating margin | 41.2% | 39.6% | 38.6% | — |
| Net income | 1,690.4 | 1,657.3 | 1,760.1 | 4.2% |
| Net margin | 32.0% | 29.7% | 27.0% | — |
Sources: FY2026 10-K, p. 41; FY2025 10-K, p. 42. Annualized growth expresses the change as a constant yearly growth rate over three years. It uses FY2023 bases of $5,007.1 million revenue, $2,033.1 million operating income, and $1,557.3 million net income: (FY2026 ÷ FY2023)^(1/3) − 1. Margins divide each profit measure by revenue.
Operating margin, the share of revenue remaining after operating expenses, fell from 39.6% to 38.6%, a decline of 1.1 percentage points. Revenue grew a calculated 16.9%, but operating profit grew 13.7%. Profit therefore grew more slowly than revenue; acquisition effects mean this comparison does not isolate underlying cost efficiency.
Interest expense rose from $105.4 million to $269.5 million, absorbing $164.1 million of the calculated $302.8 million operating-profit increase. Net income grew 6.2%; diluted earnings per share, which include the potential effect of share awards and other additional shares, rose from $4.58 to $4.89. A calculation using reported earnings and average diluted shares attributes about $0.28 of that increase to earnings and $0.03 to fewer shares. Average diluted shares fell from 362.0 million to 360.0 million. 10-K, pp. 25, 41
2-2. Most Excluded Costs Will Not Vanish Immediately
The largest adjustment is amortization, which continues as acquired assets are expensed over their useful lives.
| Operating-profit bridge ($ millions) | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
| GAAP operating income | 2,207.7 | 2,510.5 |
| Add: Paycor acquired-intangible amortization | 40.7 | 242.0 |
| Add: acquisition compensation, including retention and severance | 70.8 | 52.1 |
| Add: other acquisition costs, mainly professional fees | 50.8 | 10.1 |
| Company-adjusted operating income, non-GAAP | 2,370.0 | 2,814.7 |
Source: 10-K, p. 26. Generally accepted accounting principles, or GAAP, are standard U.S. accounting rules. The company’s non-GAAP measure removes the specified costs; it should not be read as a measure of cash generated or costs that will all disappear.
The company’s earnings release highlights a different margin trend after these exclusions: adjusted operating margin rose from 42.5% to 43.2%, an increase of 0.7 percentage point. Thus, the decline in reported margin coexisted with an improvement in the company’s adjusted measure. The distinction matters because the excluded amortization remains an accounting expense even though it requires no matching current-period cash payment. FY2026 earnings release
Compensation rose from $1,853.0 million to $2,091.9 million, slower than revenue, reducing its relative burden. Direct insurance costs rose from $520.1 million to $563.2 million with covered employment and insurance revenue. Staffing and technology create ongoing commitments, while insurance costs respond to participation and claims; the filing does not quantify how much of the cost base is fixed versus variable. 10-K, pp. 24–25
3. Better Cash Conversion Still Left a Thin Surplus
Operating cash improved, helped by payment timing. Larger noncash expenses also help explain why operating cash exceeded accounting profit; those expenses do not themselves generate cash.
Compare free cash flow with distributions, then distinguish total cash from the corporate balance-sheet line.
| Item ($ millions) | FY2025 | FY2026 | Change ($ millions) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating cash flow | 1,900.9 | 2,556.7 | +655.8 |
| Investing cash flow | −3,356.8 | −1,152.4 | +2,204.4 |
| Financing cash flow | 2,293.2 | −2,653.8 | −4,947.0 |
| Ending cash, including restricted and client cash equivalents | 2,734.3 | 1,484.8 | −1,249.5 |
| Property and equipment purchases | 191.8 | 234.9 | +43.1 |
| Free cash flow: operating cash less purchases above | 1,709.1 | 2,321.8 | +612.7 |
| Dividends plus share repurchases | 1,553.0 | 2,200.6 | +647.6 |
| Free cash remaining after distributions | 156.1 | 121.2 | −34.9 |
Source: 10-K, p. 44; free cash flow, distribution totals, remaining cash, and changes are calculated from reported amounts. Free cash flow here does not deduct customer-list purchases or receivables financing. Distributions equal dividends of $1,448.5 million and repurchases of $104.5 million in FY2025, and dividends of $1,589.6 million and repurchases of $611.0 million in FY2026. The ending-cash row includes restricted and client cash equivalents outside the balance-sheet cash line shown in Section 1, so the two cash balances and their declines differ.
Operating cash divided by net income improved from 1.12 to 1.15 to 1.45 across FY2024–26. In the latest year, that means operating activities generated about $1.45 in cash for each dollar of accounting profit. Those calculated ratios use operating cash of $1,897.7 million, $1,900.9 million, and $2,556.7 million, respectively, and the net income shown above. However, depreciation and amortization rose from $209.5 million to $442.6 million. These expenses reduce profit without requiring a matching current-period cash payment, so they are added back when reconciling profit to operating cash. A larger add-back can raise the cash-to-profit ratio without representing better customer collections. The cash contribution from changes in payables and other current liabilities also rose from $42.3 million to $291.4 million. Management attributes part of the improvement to tax-payment timing and customer refunds still owed: cash remains with Paychex until those obligations are paid. 10-K, pp. 30, 44
Capital spending reached a calculated 3.6% of revenue ($234.9 million ÷ $6,512.0 million), including software development and enhancements. Eligible software costs become assets and are expensed over time; maintenance and growth spending are not separately quantified. After distributions, the calculated $121.2 million surplus was insufficient to cover $400.0 million of long-term principal repayments, before other investments. This comparison measures the remaining annual cash flow, rather than the company’s total ability to pay from existing cash or other resources. The company issued no new corporate bonds during FY2026. 10-K, pp. 31, 44; Note A, p. 47
4. HR Coverage Grew While Payroll Client Count Held Steady
The operating indicators show wider employee coverage in outsourced human resources (HR) services alongside a broadly unchanged reported payroll client count. Worksite employees are employees of customers covered by these services, rather than Paychex’s own staff. These indicators do not establish that each existing client bought more services.
| Indicator | FY2025 | FY2026 | Investor meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payroll clients, approximate | 800,000 | 800,000 | Reported count shows no clear expansion |
| Payroll client retention | 82%–83% | 82%–83% | Similar share of starting clients retained |
| Human resources outsourcing worksite employees | 2,460,000 | 2,600,000 | Wider employee coverage supports service revenue |
| Stock compensation / revenue | 2.0% | 1.5% | Lower relative expense, but still a shareholder cost |
Sources: 10-K, pp. 22, 44. Stock compensation was $111.8 million against revenue of $5,571.7 million in FY2025, and $96.1 million against $6,512.0 million in FY2026. The calculated FY2024 ratio was 1.2% ($61.1 million ÷ $5,278.3 million). Share-based compensation is a cost even when it does not require an immediate cash payment.
Including Paycor for a full year boosts the reported growth comparison. Against the filing’s estimated combined FY2025 revenue of $6,206.7 million, FY2026 revenue increased a calculated 4.9%, below reported growth. This unaudited, acquisition-adjusted comparison assumes earlier ownership; it is not a disclosed measure of growth excluding acquisitions. Note D, p. 58
Interest on funds held for clients rose from $161.7 million to $210.9 million, helped by larger average balances and realized investment gains. Lower rates on newly invested funds could weaken that revenue stream even if service demand holds. 10-K, pp. 23–24
Workers’ compensation reserves of $237.7 million were the auditor’s critical audit matter—an area requiring especially challenging audit judgment—because estimates of future claims require substantial judgment. Note Q says management expects no material adverse effect from outstanding legal matters, but provides no quantified range of reasonably possible losses. That is not evidence of zero exposure. Auditor’s report, p. 40; Note Q, pp. 76–77
5. Payout Flexibility Depends on Durable Cash Generation
Service expansion can support growth, but distributions leave limited room to absorb weaker cash conversion. The risks are continuing acquisition charges, financing costs, and reversal of favorable payment timing. Within acquisition charges, amortization reduces reported earnings without a matching current cash outflow; compensation and professional fees can require cash. If customer growth and integration savings strengthen recurring cash generation, Paychex can support investment and debt reduction more comfortably; otherwise, the scale of buybacks becomes an important choice about how to use cash.
This analysis is based on filings submitted to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and is provided for informational purposes only. It is not investment advice. Source: SEC Form 10-K, filed July 17, 2026.